Play It Again Sam!

Yes, yes I know that’s a misquote but I’m out of food re-use headlines. Brunch yesterday was lovely and composed almost entirely of leftovers. I somehow feel more accomplished doing that than making the actual dishes. Earlier this week I made a summer pasta with corn, zucchini, fresh tomatoes, and basil. It’s fantastic cold as leftovers so it’s been getting picked at but I swear this Tupperware is magic because it never seems to get particularly empty! I also made a leg of lamb with chickpeas and spinach (the leftover chickpeas will appear in tomorrow’s dinner).

When I was a kid my dad would make this leg of lamb and it was delicious (full disclosure mine wasn’t as good). The next day I would be tasked with making the entire family lamb sandwiches. Given all the amazing cooks in my family I didn’t see much kitchen time, but those always got compliments. So clearly post leg of lamb sandwiches must be prepared! Because 42 year old me is far lazier than 14 year old me we went the deconstructed route. Plus that way everybody could have as much meat or sauce as they like. The sauce is not a particularly pretty color (I should have whipped the feta and then added chopped olives) but it’s going to be in heavy rotation. Feta whipped with Kalamata olives, rosemary, garlic, and loads of pepper. You can also add some Calabrian chilis. Don’t add salt. If it’s still a bit salty throw in some mayonnaise. It’s so delicious I could just eat it alone on toast with tomatoes. Happy homemade brunching! (Don’t worry Olive got her share too).

Leave a comment