Instant Pot Pork Shoulder

Puerco al horno (slow oven roasted pork) is one of my favorite dishes. But on a 90 degree day it’s not a good option no matter how much you’re craving it. Enter the Instant Pot.

The smart electronic slow cooker is far from the deathly rattling stovetop version my grandmother used. It’s fabulous for cooking all sorts of things quickly (no more hours of boiling for whole grains and dried beans and fast bone broth alone makes it worth the money). I’ve even seen a Facebook post on which a friend used it to make a cheesecake.

Anyway, back to the pork. I made a simple marinade of olive oil, lemon juice, tangerine juice, garlic, and cilantro stems blended in the vitamix. I covered the meat (pork shoulder cut into 2 inch cubes) and let is sit for about 4 hours. I pored everything g into the Instant Pot with a bit of water (I would omit the water next time) and set it for 25 minutes. When it was done I reduced the sauce and broiled the meat. And there you have it – day long tender oven roasted pork in no time at all. Served with beans and rice and a watermelon salad it made for a pretty nice (and not expensive) dinner party – I don’t think it was even obvious that I’d returned from vacation at midnight the very same day!

 

 

Leave a Reply

