The Publican, Chicago

The Publican might be one of the best places I’ve eaten at recently. The Bob and self popped in for brunch before an afternoon at the Art Institute and it was really a great way to start the day. There are so many reasons to love this place. Of course the great letter they wrote to PETA: http://chicagoist.com/2014/01/13/publican_quality_meats_dishes_up_cl.php.

The charming decor:

photo 2

photo 3

The best french fries I’ve had since I was a kid. I have to wax poetic for a second here. There used to be a Belgian frites place on the Third Street Promenade in Santa Monica. When I was a kid I’m pretty sure it was my favorite restaurant in the whole world. They made perfect fries (crunchy outside and fluffy inside) and only fries and served them with garlic mayonnaise. They closed like two decades ago and I’ve never had a fry as good since. Until the Publican. They even came with garlic mayo!

photo 5

I had an Asian style pork with fried egg and dashi. The broth was so good I had to ask for more rice to make sure I soaked it all up.

publican1

The Bob opted for a fluffy pancake with bacon wrapped chicken and sausage baked into it. Also delicious. I hope we get back to Chicago soon because I’m dying to have dinner here. Oh, and another reason to love them? They have adopted the trend (which I love) of telling you where they source their meat (for every single dish) on their ever changing menu.

publican2

Leave a Reply

