Winner, Winner, Chicken Dinner

In the autumn when I roast chicken thighs I usually just toss them in a pan with some potatoes, carrots, brussels sprouts, onions, garlic, and herbs and bake the whole thing until it’s done.  It’s incredibly flavorful, you get moist meat and crispy skin, and it requires almost no effort.  Recently though, I saw some amazing carrots at the farmers market and just couldn’t bear not to serve them whole. So I roasted them with some Benton’s bacon (my go to recently and a perfect smoky contrast to the sweet carrots. ImageBut that meant I had a pan full of chicken drippings that would go to waste.  I decided to brush the thighs with some saffron butter and toss some precooked rice into the pan drippings once the chicken was cooked.  Not much harder than the usual one dish meal and a nice change.  Plus I think you could even get away with serving it at a dinner party. 

Image

Leave a Reply

