Ad Hoc Fried Chicken

If you’ve heard me talk about the time we ate at Ad Hoc in Yountville then you’ve probably heard me say that the fried chicken was life changing. I’m not the only one who thinks this:
http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Rosemary-Brined-Buttermilk-Fried-Chicken-368790.
Seriously. Crispy skin and super moist meat absolutely bursting with flavor – it’s the perfect combination. I think about it often. But, to my great chagrin, I can’t just fly back to California whenever I have a craving for some chicken. So this weekend we decided to make it at home.

We followed this Food and Wine recipe almost exactly: http://www.foodandwine.com/recipes/lemon-brined-fried-chicken  (I cut up the chicken before the brine step not after, we used a deep fryer, and I threw in a few extra wings).  The brine was key. The chicken was so moist and flavorful. The batter came out crunchy and golden brown under the watchful eye of the Bob who manned the fryer, though we did find that the pieces that had a thinner coating were more delicious. It wasn’t AS good as it was at the restaurant, but it was an excellent reproduction and certainly a successful first at-home attempt. So I leave you with some pictures and some thoughts about fried chicken generally (or rather a list of do-not-dos): don’t take the skin off, don’t put cornmeal or corn flakes in the batter, don’t make chicken fingers and call it fried chicken, don’t serve me breasts, do not use less than excellent meat just because you’re frying it …

photo1

photo2

Doggies like it too!

photo3

Leave a Reply

