New York Eats

Hello fellows! It’s been a long time since I’ve posted. We’ve been traveling a bit and cooking quite often as well, but the heat must be making me lazy because I haven’t taken photos or been motivated to write. However, a recent weekend we spent in New York can’t possibly go without mention. We started out Friday night at Kin Shop, still good, but not as great as the last visit.  The next morning we had brunch in Hoboken at an adorable cafe (the name of which I can’t remember) probably because I was dazzled by the wonderful bottle of champagne one A. Witt broke out to celebrate the Bob’s and my engagement. It was amazing.
db378-dom-scaled-1000

I should have more to say about the complex mineral flavors, the tiny little bubbles, the fact that it tasted unlike any champagne I’ve had before. But really I don’t quite have good words to describe how fantastic it was. So we’ll have to leave it at that … fantastic.

That evening we hit up the fried chicken dinner at Momofuku Noodle Bar. We started with the pork belly buns (just as good as ever)

Pork_bun

and then came the star of the evening.  Two whole chickens (one fried Korean style and the other in an Old Bay batter), served with 4 dipping sauces, thin pancakes and an assortment of vegetables. The chickens were tender and had good flavor and crunchy skin.

Fried_chiken

The Old Bay one could have been hotter.  They were very good, but I didn’t have the same feeling of chicken nirvana I experienced at Ad Hoc when we ate the fried chicken there.  I think next time I might just stick with the buns and try a bowl of noodles … maybe stopping by Bon Chon after a night out if I really need to fix a Korean chicken craving.

The next night we had dinner at Osteria Morini. We started with a grilled snail and rosemary lardo skewer that sounded exciting, but was underwhelming with dry snails and sort of chewy lardo. Luckily the other starters of a olive oil poached tuna belly and a mushroom Parmesan custard were excellent. The tuna belly was melt in your mouth fatty, kind of like really good toro, but cooked and with a vinaigrette and vegetables. So really nothing like toro.  But I would happily eat it every day. The salty Parmesan custard was a slick, smooth, umami contrast to the earthiness of the mushrooms with which it was paired.  Very rich, so certainly one to share. So far so good right? But this is when the night turned from really really good to “hot damn I wish I lived near this place!”  I have to take back the things I said here: http://gigglinggourmand.posterous.com/london-islington about pork belly in America.

Pork_belly

The crackling on this pork belly was crackling! I mean seriously, super crispy but with that necessary layer of fat underneath. I could eat a pound of the stuff if I could figure out how to get it.  The belly was tender and and bursting with unctuous porky flavor as well. I can’t remember what everyone else had, I was too busy trying to fight off any requests to share :).

Leave a Reply

